Has it been a month already?

22 Mar

I must admit that I’m proud of this accomplishment. An entire month has passed without any animal products in my diet. It was difficult this week when food was offerred at some different pharmacy club meetings (there was a lot of turning down pizza), however, I was successful in eating vegan from both Noodles & Company and Chipotle! I ordered Pad Thai from Noodles without egg and with tofu and it was delicious! And my Chipotle order consisted of brown rice, peppers and onions, lettuce, salsa, black beans, and of course guacamole. Going vegan is definitely a lifestyle change and requires a lot of thought at first (for example, I almost ordered pinto beans from Chipotle until I realized that they are cooked with bacon!), yet it is definitely worth it. I feel great knowing that this lifestyle change is beneficial for my health, the environment, and animals.

I was home for spring break last week and was able to cook dinner for my family a few times. I had so much fun trying out recipes and my family loved every single one of them! Here are some pictures:

Making edamame pesto!

Making edamame pesto!

IMG_1494

Sauteeing mushrooms, onions and spinach

IMG_1497

Mixing the pesto in with whole wheat spaghetti

IMG_1499

The final product! 

I got the recipe from this website: http://www.theppk.com/2009/10/edamame-pesto-a-totally-satisfying-low-fat-manifesto/

IMG_1503

Even Sammy loved it! She requested leftovers for lunch the next day!

IMG_1506

A snack I whipped up one day. Whole wheat toast, hummus, cilantro, and bell pepper.

IMG_1507

Making pizzas! Ingredients: whole wheat dough from Trader Joe’s, pizza sauce from Trader Joe’s with added fresh garlic, Trader Joe’s vegan mozzarella, olives, and basil.

IMG_1510

It was so delicious!

IMG_1529

Got to spend a lot of time with Ellie over spring break. I even cut her bangs!

IMG_1534

She is so healthy for being almost 15 years old!

IMG_1544

I also got to go see Sammy rock climb at her track out camp. She was amazing! She could out-climb almost all of the other kids her age! Even the boys!

IMG_1545

And finally got to see another one of Sammy’s tennis matches. She’s such an athlete!

One Response to “Has it been a month already?”

  1. Lynn and Sid kotz April 27, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    Jennie we are still waiting for our Skype call to hear all the things going on
    Grandma is just finished with two of her radiation treatments and has 8 to go

    Grand pa

Leave a Reply

